BIFA Freight Service Awards Now Open For Entry

Press Release | BIFA used this year’s Multimodal Exhibition and Conference to launch its annual Freight Service Awards competition, which is now in its 35th year.

The Freight Service Awards is open to all Members of the trade association, which represents UK companies engaged in managing the global movement of freight and international supply chains by all modes of transport.

They are an important part of BIFA’s mission to encourage its Members in their pursuit of improved standards and excellence within the logistics and supply chain industry, as well as being a key element in the trade association’s engagement with its members.

Sponsored by a number of blue chip companies, each of the eleven award categories is recognised as very prestigious and winning an award has become more coveted year-on-year.

This year’s competition includes a new award category covering Sustainable Logistics and the Environment, in recognition of the ever-increasing influence of these issues on the work undertaken by freight forwarders. For this category, BIFA members are invited to submit their case studies detailing the steps they are taking to measure and reduce their impact on the environment in any area of their business.

The deadline for entry is Thursday 5th October 2023. Entry forms and guidelines for entrants to all 11 categories are available to download here from the BIFA website.

Finalists will be announced towards the end of this year. The winners will be revealed at the BIFA Freight Service Awards ceremony at The Brewery in central London on Thursday, 18th January 2024. Typically attracting more that 500 BIFA members and their guests, this has become a not to be missed annual event on the industry’s agenda.

Comments Steve Parker, Director General of BIFA: “Our awards, which are free to enter, encourage and reward high standards and professionalism. Uninterrupted for 35 years, they have come to represent the ultimate recognition of special achievement in different sectors of the freight forwarding and logistics industry.

The BIFA Freight Service Awards are separated into eleven categories, as follows:

General categories

  • Project Forwarding Award
  • Specialist Services Award
  • Staff Development Award
  • Supply Chain Management Award

Modal categories

  • Air Cargo Services Award
  • European Logistics Award
  • Ocean Services Award

Specialist categories

  • Sustainable Logistics and the Environment Award
  • Extra Mile Award

Individual categories

  • Young Freight Forwarder of the Year Award
  • Apprentice of the Year Award

Sharon Hammond, BIFA’s Events Executive adds: “Eight of the eleven blue chip companies that sponsored last year’s award categories have already confirmed their return as sponsors, which shows the esteem accorded to these awards. There is every indication that the remaining three will renew their sponsorship.”

Further information relating to entries and sponsorship opportunities can be obtained by visiting our dedicated Awards site:


Media references:

Ian Matheson, Impress Communications
Tel: +44 (0) 7894 406762